Inspiration, Encouragement & Strength
join a community of support ›

Resource Articles

The divorce resources listed below provide helpful information about a range of important topics, all provided by experts and other knowledgeable individuals. Topics include all things legal and financial, health and body, and more lighthearted content like makeup how-tos, music recommendations, and recipes.

Back to Article List

Filter Articles By:  

WYOMING DIVORCE LAWS:

The Residency Requirement: The spouse filing for divorce must have been a resident of Wyoming for 60 days immediately prior to filing, or, if the marriage was performed in Wyoming, the spouse must have resided in Wyoming from the time of the marriage until the time of the filing.

Grounds:

No Fault: Irreconcilable differences.

Fault: Incurable insanity and in a mental institution for at least two years prior to filing

Property Division: Couples are encouraged to come up with a settlement themselves. Otherwise Wyoming is an equitable distribution “hotchpot” state. This means the court can divide any and all property owned by the parties, however and whenever acquired, in an “equitable” manner, i.e., fairly as the circumstances dictate. The court considers seven factors including the relative merits of the parties, and the condition in which they will be left by the divorce (click the following for an expert's overview and key tips on dividing up property through divorce).

Alimony: Either spouse may be awarded alimony in the form of a specific sum or property after consideration of the other’s ability to pay and the length of the marriage.

Child custody and child support: As in all states, child custody is determined by “the best interests of the child.” Custody may include any combination of joint, shared, or sole custody, as the circumstances may require. Parenting classes may be required.

Wyoming child-support guidelines are based on the income-shares model: the total obligation is divided between the mother and father according to their incomes. The formula has many variables. With that in mind, generally, for a combined net monthly income of:

  • $2,000, support for one child is $524, for two children, $700, for three children, $806
  • $5,000, support for one child is $960, for two children, $1,295, for three children, 1,450

The Wyoming child support worksheet can be found here.

Support terminates at age 18 or, if the child is still enrolled in secondary school, at age 20. There is no law holding a parent responsible for college support.

Click the following for an expert's overview and a list of articles on child custody and child support.

The information supplied above is for "educational purposes only" and is not intended to be used as legal advice.

Back to Article List


Leave a comment